Watch SpaceX launch a satellite tv for pc to observe the world's oceans

0
13

SpaceX is set to launch a falcon 9 from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California on Saturday morning with a target start time of 9:17 a.m. PST (12:17 p.m. EST). This is the Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich mission, which carries a satellite of the same name that was developed by the European Space Agency, NASA and the meteorological monitoring agencies of the USA and Europe.

The Sentinel-6 is named after the former director of NASA's Earth Science Division, Michael Freilich, who held this position between 2006 and 2019 and who passed away in August. It is one of two Sentinel-6 series satellites launched for the program. The Sentinel-6B is expected to join the Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich sometime in 2025.

SpaceX will attempt to rescue the Falcon 9 first stage booster with a powered landing on Earth in landing zone 4 in Vandenberg. This is Vandenberg's first SpaceX launch since June last year, despite many missions being flown from both Cape Canaveral Air Force Station and the Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

The above webcast will go live approximately 15 minutes before it launches, around 9:02 a.m. PST (12:02 p.m. EST). Should this mission have to be canceled today, a backup option is set for Sunday at 9:04 a.m. PST (12:04 p.m. PST).